Embroidered Floral Kingdom

My sugar-buttered childhood taught me how to

Speak in soothing sherbet tones,

Crystal-encrusted,

And embroider thick summer blossoms

Onto the slippery pink satin of my tongue

 

Years of coiled yarn spin themselves

Into an entangled mess of femalehood

Red dress plastered onto my limbs

Stretching over the mounds of fleshy plump

Impasto swathes of kitchen breeding

Seeping through my pores like granny lavender

 

Floral sunshine, spinning teeth

My mouth that actually bites and snaps

And spits out mistakes and curse words

Lips full of vitriolic acid and insecurities

 

Febrile is my temperament, rouged and ferocious

My feet clap with lightning rod high heels

Burning itch beneath finger nails

My tunic of rage ribbed with horror

The furnace in my belly, swelling and rolling

The tips of my tongue flicking flames

Off into the sunset-rich horizon that holds no future

Or promise.

 

I blow on my conch

The howling despair that bends to the moon

Pale orb cut by Father Time’s sickle

This complicated bracken maze

Of what it means to breathe

With the weight of swollen breasts

Fondled roughly by dark-glassed men

Clawing, crawling eyeball gazes

Wolf calls that scathe

Canine want, growling desire

Barking, roaring for a piece

 

Beaded, heaving clouds

Trousers dragged forth from jiggling belly

Near the erect centre

The monolith of manhood

Spiked, slick

Coated in sweaty entitlement

 

The cream-soft thighs forced

Into a wide, shrieking V –

For vagina, for virginal, for virtue –

 

Taking all you want

Spoonfuls flowing over

Tureens of dimpled pudding

Devoured with unseeing gluttony.

Leave a comment